Volleyball : Chennai Spartans were crowned as the winners of the inaugural Pro Volleyball League 2019

On a night that Chennai volleyball fans would not forget for long, Chennai Spartans were crowned as the winners of the inaugural RuPay Pro Volleyball League 2019 as they beat Calicut Heroes in straight sets 3-0 (15-11; 15-12; 16-14). By virtue of this victory, Chennai Spartans have also qualified for this year’s FIVB Asian Men’s Club Volleyball Championship scheduled to be held in Chinese Taipei in mid-April.

The first set of the match started was fitting for a finale as both the teams looked equal. With the crowd support behind them, Chennai Spartans took inspiration from them and took the first set. Verhoeff and Naveen Raja Jacob scored 4 points each to help Chennai win the set 15-11.

Calicut, who hadn’t lost a single match this season, started the second set nervously but Chennai take the second set by 15-12.


Chennai began the third set without dropping its intensity. It took a three-point lead into the Technical Timeout (8-5) with a couple of spikes from Verhoeff and errors from Calicut captain Jerome, attacker A. Karthik and libero C. K. Ratheesh. Calicut, though, came back fighting and won the next six points, including Chennai’s Super Point to go 11-8 up but two errors in succession from Calicut captain gave Chennai the third set 16-14 and the championship.


Awards List :

1st Place – Chennai Spartans – INR 50 Lakhs

Runner’s Up – Calicut Heroes – INR 20 Lakhs

Nippon Fan Favorite of the Day: Ajith Lal (Calicut Heroes)

RuPay Player of the Match: Naveen Raja Jacob (Chennai Spartans)

Bank of Baroda Most Valuable Player: Ajith Lal (Calicut Heroes)

Peter England Most Stylish Player: Karthik A (Calicut Heroes)

Best Spiker: Rudy Verhoeff (Chennai Spartans)

Best Blocker: David Lee (Kochi Blue Spikers)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top