Padma Awards For The Year 2019 Were Announced

The Padma Awards for the year 2019 were announced on the eve of Republic Day. One of the highest civilian Awards of the country, the awards are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.


The awards are given in various disciplines or fields of activities: social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc. The Padma Vibhushan is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; the Padma Bhushan for distinguished service of high order and the Padma Shri for distinguished service in any field. The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.


These awards are conferred by the President of India at ceremonial functions which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan usually around March or April every year. This year the President of India Ram Nath Kovind approved conferment of 112 Padma Awards including one duo case (in a duo case, the Award is counted as one). The list comprises 4 Padma Vibhushan, 14 Padma Bhushan and 94 Padma Shri Awards. 21 of the awardees are women and the list also includes 11 persons from the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI, three Posthumous awardees and one transgender person.


Here’s the full list of sportsperson recipients of the Padma awards for the year 2019:

Padma Bhushan

· Bachendri Pal – Mountaineering


Padma Shri

· Gautam Gambhir – Cricket

· Sunil Chhetri – Football

· Harika Dronavalli – Chess

· Sharath Kamal – Table Tennis

· Bambayla Devi – Archery

· Prashanti Singh – Basketball

· Ajay Thakur – Kabaddi

· Bajrang Punia – Wrestling


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top