Lok Sabha election 2019 # Sports Persons Match Report

Former India opener Gautam Gambhir tasted political success in his first attempt by emerging victorious from East Delhi. Contesting on a BJP ticket, Gambhir – a member of the 2011 World Cup winning team has made a smashing start to his political career with 55.3% of the votes for BJP in East Delhi Lok Sabha Constituency, well ahead of Congress’ Arvinder Singh Lovely (24.2%) and AAP’s Atishi Marlena (17.46%), who has been credited of transforming Delhi’s health and education sector. Gambhir’s vote count read 6,96,156.

Shooter-turned-politician Rajyavardhan Rathore, who currently represents Jaipur Rural and is Minister for Information and Broadcasting, contested on a BJP ticket from Rajasthan’s Jaipur Rural parliamentary constituency. He successfully maintained his foothold in the area, overtaking his 62.44% share in 2014 to win 64.2% votes this time. He won by a margin of 3.93 lakh votes over the second place and fellow Olympian Krishna Poonia.

The Sports Minister won a silver medal at the 2004 Athens Olympics, and gold at the 2002 and 2006 Commonwealth Games in Manchester and Melbourne respectively. During the four-year period, he won 25 medals at various international tournaments for the country. Contesting against Rathore on the same seat is Krishna Poonia, a track-and-field athlete. Poonia won a gold medal at the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi. The 36-year-old has competed in three Olympics and was awarded the Padma Shri in 2011. She emerged second in the polling result with 33.8% of the votes. Her final tally read 4,26,961 or 33.4% of the votes. Krishna Poonia, who originally hails from Haryana, won last year’s Rajasthan assembly election from Sadulpur after losing in the previous election.

But there was no luck for Olympic medallist Vijender Singh. Vijender Singh, contesting for Congress, is trailing at the third spot behind Ramesh Bidhuri in South Delhi. Bidhuri won by 56.6% of the vote share – well ahead of Aam Aadmi Party’s Raghav Chadha (26.4%) and Vijender (13.6%). Vijender’s final tally read 1,64,613 votes. World Championship bronze medallist Vijender, who quit his Haryana police job to contest on a Congress ticket.

Cricketer-turned-politician Kirti Azad contested from the Dhanbad Lok Sabha constituency in Jharkhand for Congress and is trailing BJP’s Pashupati Nath Singh. Pasupati won by 66% of the votes as against Azad’s 27.2%. Nath had won the mandate in both 2009 and 2014 here. The 1983 World Cup winning squad member Azad, a former BJP MP from Dharbhanga in Bihar had to shift out after the seat was given to the RJD as part of the seat-sharing arrangement for the alliance in the state.

Ex Indian Football captain turned politician Prasun Banerjee, who currently represents Howrah Lok Sabha parliamentary constituency, contested on a TMC ticket, has successfully maintained his foothold in the area. He won by a margin of 1.03 lakh votes over the Journalist Rantidev Sengupta.

But Ex Indian Footballer, TFA cadre Kalyan Choubey contesting for BJP, is trailing at the second spot behind Mahuha Moitra of TMC in Krishna Nagar parliamentary constituency, in West Bengal.

But major disappointing result for Indian football icon Bhaichung Bhutia. He lost both the constituency in Sikkim State Election. He secures only 70 votes and lost his deposit.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top