Karthik, Shankar included in India’s World Cup squad

Kohli will hope to lead India to their third World Cup title
Photo: Kohli will hope to lead India to their third World Cup title (Cricbuzz)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) recently named the 15-man squad for the World Cup in England and Wales, scheduled to start on Thursday, May 30, 2019. Chief selector MSK Prasad and Secretary Amitabh Chaudhary named the squad in the press conference in Mumbai. After all the speculations and analysis, the names were finally put forth and there were a few surprises.

India became the third team, after New Zealand and Australia, to name their squad for the upcoming World Cup in England on Monday.

Squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Vijay Shankar, KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik

The biggest talking points are the inclusions of Dinesh Karthik and Vijay Shankar over Rishabh Pant and Ambati Rayudu.

There had been a lot of talk regarding the potential number four for India, a pain point that the team has been trying to resolve for quite a while now. India went in with two potential options with Dinesh Karthik and Vijay Shankar. The reserve ‘keeper slot has gone to Karthik, while KL Rahul can be slotted in as the back up opener.

Ravindra Jadeja took up the third spinner’s slot, alongside wrist spiners Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav. The four pacers in the side picked themselves with Jasprit Bumrah leading the attack that also includes Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and all-rounder Hardik Pandya.

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 will be held in England and Wales from May 30, 2019 to July 14, 2019. This time, in the first round of the tournament the ten teams will play against each other. The top four teams will progress to the semifinals.The participating teams are England (hosts), Australia, Bangladesh, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and West Indies.

The tournament fixtures (All times in IST)

  • June 5 (Wednesday): South Africa vs India – Southampton – 3 p.m.
  • June 9 (Sunday): India vs Australia – The Oval – 3 p.m.
  • June 13 (Thursday): India vs New Zealand – Nottingham – 3 p.m.
  • June 16 (Sunday): India vs Pakistan – Manchester – 3 p.m.
  • June 22 (Saturday): India vs Afghanistan – Southampton – 3 p.m.
  • June 27 (Thursday): West Indies vs India – Manchester – 3 p.m.
  • June 30 (Sunday): England vs India – Birmingham – 3 p.m.
  • July 2 (Tuesday): Bangladesh vs India – Birmingham – 3 p.m.
  • July 6 (Saturday): Sri Lanka vs India – Leeds – 3 p.m.
  • July 9 (Tuesday): First semifinal – Manchester – 3 p.m.
  • July 11 (Thursday): Second semifinal – Birmingham – 3 p.m.
  • July 14 (Sunday): THE FINAL

Source: Cricbuzz

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top