ISSF World Cup: First Time Ever India Finished On The Top Of Medal Tally

In the ISSF World Cup concluded in Mexico in which India finished on top with 9 medals in total including 4 gold,a silver and 4 bronze for the first time. This is historic feat by Indian shooters.

Source ISSF Website

Earlier in 2009 ISSF World Cup Indian shooters managed to win total of 7 medals which was best performance by India so far. Every year four ISSF World Cups are played out of which this one concluded in Mexico was first. While achieving this feat Indian shooters performed well when compared to American and Chinese shooters, who generally finish on top. Indian shooters not only won Maximum number of medals but they also won maximum number of gold among other participating nations.

India clinched 4 gold medals out of total 15. While America and China were able to bag 3 and 2 gold medals respectively. Shahzar Rizvi, Manu Bhaker, Akhil Sheoran Om Prakash Mitharval, Anjum Moudgil, Mehuli Ghosh were some Indian youngsters who presented impressive performance. While there were many others shooters from Indian side who missed on medals by finishing on fourth place. Deepak Kumar, Sanjeev Rajput, Om Prakash Mitharval, Yashaswini Singh Deswal, were among the shooters who finished on fourth position in their respective events.

Source ISSF Website

In the ISSF World Cup total of 404 shooters competed from 50 different nationalities, out of which only 15 nations were able to win a medal. India and china were only medal winning nations from Asia.
In the history of ISSF World Cup India won their first medal in 1997, while India won their first gold in 2003.In previous year world cup event India won 6 medals in total including 2 gold medals.

India’s Medalists

Akhil Sheoran – 50m Rifle 3 Positions Men
Shahzar Rizvi – 10m Air Pistol Men
Manu Bhaker – 10m Air Pistol Women
Manu Bhaker and Om Prakash Mitharval – 10m Air Pistol Mixed Team

Anjum Moudgil – 50m Rifle 3 Positions Women

Ravi Kumar – 10m Air Rifle Men
Mehuli Ghosh – 10m Air Rifle Women
Jitu Rai – 10m Air Pistol Men
Mehuli Ghosh and Deepak Kumar – 10m Air Rifle Mixed Team

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top