Chess : Abhijeet Gupta wins Commonweath Championships, Tania Sachdev takes Women’s Gold

Photo: The champions flanking their ‘guru’ IM Vishal Sareen (All India Chess Federation)

GM Abhijeet Gupta won the Commonwealth Gold for a staggering fifth time with a score of 7.5/9. IM Tania Sachdev scored an important win in the last round to reach 6/9 and take the Women’s Gold Medal.

Photo: Gupta won a crucial last round game with the white pieces against GM Arjun Erigaisi (All India Chess Federation)
Photo: National Champion GM Aravindh Chithambaram took the Silver Medal after settling for a draw in the final round and scoring 7/9 (All India Chess Federation)
Photo: GM Swapnil Dhopade took the bronze medal (All India Chess Federation)
Photo: IM Tania Sachdev with her medal and the trophy (All India Chess Federation)

Final Ranking after 9 Rounds

Rk.SNo NameFEDRtgClub/CityPts. TB1 TB2 TB3
11GMGupta AbhijeetIND2606Delhi7,50,048,553,0
23GMAravindh Chithambaram VrIND2598Tamilnadu7,00,048,552,5
310GMSwapnil S DhopadeIND2488Maharastra7,00,047,051,0
42GMNarayanan S LIND2603Kerala7,00,046,551,0
55GMDeepan Chakkravarthy JIND2557Tamilnadu6,50,045,049,5
66GMDebashis DasIND2544Orissa6,50,044,549,0
714GMKarthikeyan PIND2445Tamilnadu6,50,042,545,5
812GMKunte AbhijitIND2478Maharastra6,50,041,045,5
97GMErigaisi ArjunIND2526Telangana6,00,048,052,0
104GMLalith Babu M RIND2571Andra Pradesh6,00,045,049,0
1119IMTania SachdevIND2401Delhi6,00,043,547,0
129IMSwayams MishraIND2493Orissa6,00,042,547,0
138IMIniyan PIND2525Tamilnadu6,00,042,546,5
1416IMShyaamnikhil PIND2434 6,00,042,046,0
1517WIMDivya DeshmukhIND2414Maharastra6,00,040,043,0

Source: All India Chess Federation

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top