2019 Asian Weightlifting Championships to commence on 20th April

The 2019 Asian Weightlifting Championships will be held in Ningbo, China from 20 to 28 April 2019.

Previous Records

India hasn’t been quite consistent in the recent editions of the Asian Championships.

  • The last medal India  bagged was back in 2013 when Chandrakant Dadu Mali won a Bronze Medal in Clean and Jerk event.
  • 2012 Asian Championships also saw a small success for India as Ngangbam Soniya Chanu won a Bronze Medal in Snatch event in Women’s category.
  • 2011 was rather a decent outing for India as we won 3 total medals in the form of Katulu Ravi Kumar, Khumukcham Sanjita Chanu, and Santoshi Matsa.

Indian players who will be competing:


  • Muthupandi Raja is one the youngest and brightest talents in the world right now.
    At an early age of 19, he has been consistent and India definitely hopes for a medal from him. He was training with the Indian Army before shifting to the national camp.
  • At the age when students are confused, deciding whether to opt for science or commerce, Jeremy Lalrinnunga has already decided his destination. He is already a national record holder in 66kg category. He will be one of the prime attractions at the Championships.
  • Achinta Sheuli is a young weightlifter from Maharashtra and is a gold medalist in Khelo India Youth Games in 77kg category. He has also won 2 silver medals for India in youth Championships.
  • Sathish Sivalingam has been consistent over the years and India expects decent performance from him and this tournament will also him for the 2020 Olympic Qualifications.
  • Ajay Singh will also be the one aiming for a medal. He has won 5 medals for India up till now.
  • Vikas Thakur is trained by the Indian Air Force and hold a national record in 94 kg category. He has more than 10 medals for India.
  • R.V. Rahul will be competing in the 96kg category. He is a Commonwealth Games Gold Medalist and also Asian Championships Gold Medalist.
  • Pardeep Singh will be the one participating in the 102 kg category. He has won 2 Gold Medals and a silver Medal for India.
  • Gurdeep Singh is Indian record holder in 105+ category and has a bronze medal in 2017 Commonwealth Championships.


  • Jhili Dalabehera will be competing in the 45 kg category and has a Commonwealth Junior championship Gold medal to her name.
  • S. Mirabai Chanu will battle in the 49kg category. She had a magnificent 2018 as she won a Gold Medal in Commonwealth Games. India definitely expects a medal from her.
  • Swati Singh will be competing in the 59kg category. The 33-year old has a Bronze medal in 2014 Commonwealth Games.
  • 26 year old Rakhi Halder will be participating in the 64 kg category. She has a Gold Medal and a Bronze Medal in Commonwealth Junior and Senior national Championship respectively.

All Indian Competitors

Men: M Raja(61kg) Jeremy Lalrinnunga (67kg), Achinta Sheuli (73kg), Sathish Sivalingam and Ajay Singh (81kg), Vikas Thakur and R.V. Rahul (96kg), Pardeep Singh (102 kg) and Gurdeep Singh (+109 kg).

Women: Jhili Dalabehera (45kg), S. Mirabai Chanu (49kg), Swati (59kg), Rakhi Halder (64kg).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top